Books

Review: Tropic of Cancer

Tropic of Cancer by Henry Miller

Tastiness:

 

Tropic of Cancer is a brutally-honest, self-indulgent, and highly original book. A candid look inside this brilliant author’s mind and life as a writer roaming Paris. Henry Miller‘s prose could take you from the reality of being a penniless artist to the depths of his own lustrous desires. This is classic literature at its finest. Miller at its finest–provocative, bold, straight, ingenuous, misogynistic, and original.

Read-alikes:

Naked Lunch by William S. Burroughs

“Since its original publication in Paris in 1959, Naked Lunch has become one of the most important novels of the twentieth century. Exerting its influence on the relationship of art and obscenity, it is one of the books that redefined not just literature but American culture” (description from Amazon).

Big Sur by Jack Kerouac

“With prose set in the middle of his mind, he reveals consciousness itself in all its syntatic elaboration, detailing the luminous emptiness of his own paranoiac confusion. Such rich natural writing is nonpareil in later half XX century, a synthesis of Proust, Céline, Thomas Wolfe, Hemingway, Genet, Thelonius Monk, Basho, Charlie Parker, and Kerouac’s own athletic sacred insight” (publisher’s description).

Delta of Venus by Anaïs Nin

“In Delta of Venus, Anaïs Nin pens a lush, magical world where the characters of her imagination possess the most universal of desires and exceptional of talents. Among these provocative stories, a Hungarian adventurer seduces wealthy women then vanishes with their money; a veiled woman selects strangers from a chic restaurant for private trysts; and a Parisian hatmaker named Mathilde leaves her husband for the opium dens of Peru” (back cover description).

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s